Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

Happy Snowy Sunday from Colorado!  With the snow and cold temps this weekend all I have wanted to do is nest.  I have been deep cleaning and of course, quilting.  Are you ready to finish up this quilt? Me too! Once I package and send this quilt I can finally let my dad read my blog. Open-mouthed smile Only one more week of the Supernova.

These final two posts may be shorter than most because this process is just like the process we went through for the Paradigm Shift Quilt.  Instead of re-inventing the wheel I will simply direct you to those posts.  Hopefully someday soon when I get a little free time (I know hilarious, right?) I will create tutorials based on specific items that are not project related such as, spray basting, ‘stitch in the ditch quilting’, and binding.  Until then hopefully this will do.

Let’s get started shall we?

BACKING & SPRAY BASTING


First things first we need to make sure our backing is pressed and stitched.  Start by pressing your backing fabric and squaring it off prior to cutting.   I cut mine in half along the natural fabric fold and then lined up the selvages.  Once I did that I trimmed up the edges from there.  It seemed like the easiest process for me not to mention the most manageable when dealing with that much fabric.  If you need to piece your backing (which is necessary unless you bought 60” wide fabric), make sure you are stitching right sides together.

There are two options when piecing your backing fabric. You can have a vertical seam or a horizontal seam.  The way I pieced mine a horizontal seam was the easiest….wait a sec…I just realized something.  My quilt is square so it doesn’t matter.  Oh man, blonde strikes again!  Well anyway, you get the idea.

Here is a photo of my fabric laid out on the floor ready for batting.

Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

Before I laid the batting down I double checked to make sure that the backing was larger than the front.  Mine is going to be a little tight, but I will make it work.  Usually I like to have at least 2-3” all the way around the quilt front.

Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

Once we know that the back is bigger than the front we can lay out the batting.  Here is the batting I used for this quilt.  I usually try to stock-pile batting by purchasing multiple quantities when they are 40-60% off at JoAnn Fabrics.  This means I always have some on hand for impromptu projects and ensure that I am not breaking my budget per quilt.

Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

The next step is to lay out your batting and trim slightly larger than the backing piece.  I go slightly larger than the backing so if there is any tightness resulting from the quilting there won’t be a gap.

Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

As you can see getting Baxter off of the batting was an impossible task which is why you get a shot with him in it.  In fact he ended up getting locked out of the room completely.  Here’s how it went down.  Baxter attacked the batting while I was laying it out. Baxter pounced on the scissors while I was cutting the batting to size. (talk about a mini heart attack!).

Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

After I got the batting trimmed I left the room to change the laundry. While I was out, Baxter proceeded to dis-assemble the batting into his own shape of choosing.   After all was said he decided his best defense was to look cute and play dead.  Needless to say the next moment is when he was locked out.  Not only for ease of spraying, but for safety with the chemicals.

Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

Okay here we go; time to spray! If this is your first quilt with me please refer to the following post for a tutorial on how to spray baste your quilt.  Otherwise, you know the drill; always spray the batting and not the fabric and be generous.  Here are a few photos from the Supernova’s process.  I did find that this time I used more spray and it stuck super fast so it was a little challenging to smooth out pieces.

Spray Basting Tutorial

Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for QuiltingSupernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for QuiltingSupernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

One tip: Make sure you double check both the front and the back to ensure that there are no bubbles or wrinkles in the fabric before beginning to pin.

PINNING FOR QUILTING


Once you have basted your quilt it is time to pin. I plan on stitching in the ditch again on this one.  That is my preferred method for at home quilting simply because I do not have a large arm sewing machine.  I am going to stitch diagonal from the triangles.  What this means is that I will need to pin in the center of the block to avoid having to remove safety pins while quilting.  Here is a shot showing how I have pinned this one.
Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

Happy Basting & Happy Pinning!  Next week we will be quilting and binding.  If you feel comfortable cutting out your 2 1/2” binding strips before next week please feel free to do so! (Here’s a tutorial)

Have a great week! See you Wednesday!

Crystal

One thought on “Supernova–Step 4–Spray Basting & Pinning for Quilting

  1. Pingback: Stacker / Layer Cake Stripe Block Quilt | Not my grandma's quilts

Leave a Reply

