My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

Did everyone have a blast sewing together their strips and cutting out their blocks?  I know it went up fairly quickly for me.  I think you are all going to fall in love with today’s task.  We will have so many combination choices when we are done. How cute are these blocks?

My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block AssemblyMy Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block AssemblyMy Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

How did I get here? C’mon I’m so excited to show you!

The first step is to lay out all of your blocks in pairs.  I was unable to sleep last night so I put this masterpiece together at 2am.  Looking at it the next morning I am still satisfied with my results.  I made sure that each pair of blocks did not have two of the same strip fabric. Meaning no pink on pink stripes with pink on pink stripes, for example.  I did mix like patterns together (there really isn’t any way around that)  That task is easier said than done, but I think It went alright.  (Look closely the horizontal stripes are behind.)

My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

Next, we need to sew the block combinations together.  You will place the blocks right sides together with one being horizontal and one vertical.

My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block AssemblyMy Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

After you have placed the right sides together we need to sew around all four sides.  Your end result should look like this:

My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

Notice that I DID NOT pivot on my squares. Instead I chose to chain stitch one side of all of the blocks, then go back and do the next side in a chain stitch as well.  Eventually you will have all four sides closed off.  Why did I choose not to pivot?  A couple of reason actually; first this is a much faster technique. Second, I didn’t have to worry about when to stop…”am I 1/4” from the end or not?!”.  Finally, it gives you a nice guide for where to cut on the diagonal, but more on that in a second.

My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

Line up your ruler through the intersecting lines from you 1/4” seams. See, I told you I would get to it in a second. Cut on the diagonal, then rotate and to the same thing on the other corners.  A rotating mat works very well for this application.  I do not recommend picking up your blocks and moving them at this stage.

My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

Once you have cut diagonally across both corners you can open up your four NEW blocks! Here is what you get! How cool is this!? Talk about a fake out, right?! (don’t for get to press your seams.  For this quilt I have found it easier to press towards the fabric without three seams.  For example, on the bottom right square I pressed toward the white daisies on green fabric.

My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

Anyone want to guess the next step?  If you said trim the dog ears you would be correct!

My Sunshine Baby Quilt–Step 2 Small Block Assembly

Ready, set, GO get ‘em! Time to finish up all of your blocks and we’ll meet back here for final layout and front assembly!  Have any questions? Leave a comment below and I will answer as quickly as possible.

Have a fantastic Sunday!

Ciao,

Crystal

Leave a Reply

