The Sunset of My Sunshine! Front Assembly, Quilting, & Binding!

Happy Sunday Fellow Quilters!

My most sincere apologies for not posting consistently for the last couple of weeks.  The job that pays the bills has been completely insane so needless to say quilting and blogging had to sit dormant for a couple of weeks.  But…I am back now and ready to wrap up this quilt!  How did block arranging go for you?  I’ve only made a couple of modifications since my last post, but that’s just because I missed some pretty obvious stuff.

Ready, Set, Let’s GO!

The easiest way I found to put this quilt together was to pin a bunch of the blocks then sew them in chain fashion.  Here is a photo of how they take shape.  The important thing to remember is when you sew them together to keep them in the right order…or refer to your photo when done.  Or perhaps you like puzzles and this could be a fun little add in to your day. Open-mouthed smile 

IMG_1632IMG_1629

Once you have all of top half pieces completed you will want to match them to their bottom counter part.  Why not stitch all of the rows together and just have 8 long strips? If you feel comfortable doing it that way I say ‘Go For It!’.  I, however, need to make sure that I am matching my center diamonds and seams on a more frequent basis.  Think about it this way. If you mess up matching a center diamond in the middle of a long row you have to take out an entire long row.  If you mess up matching on a 4 patch block you only have to take out two block’s worth of seams.  Here is what the final 4 patch will look like.

IMG_1631

IMG_1673

Now that you have all of your 4-patch blocks matched up to perfection we can start to put multiples together.  I worked left to right and again pinned a bunch before I started.  One key tip here is to pin your seams. Yes, you can eyeball and match as you go, but by pinning you take all of the guess work out of it.  As the saying goes, “If you don’t pin now, be prepared to rip it later!” One trick to making sure your seams match is to pin directly through your previous stitching lines. If you match these up you are almost guaranteed a perfect seam match every time. Here are a couple of different methods I use.  IMG_1641IMG_1645

IMG_1646IMG_1652

IMG_1649

I chose to stitch all of the rows together which made for smaller matching stitches overall in one sitting.  Look how cute this is! Did you notice the border? So observant! Here’s how I cut them out…

IMG_1675

Step 1: Clean up your edges.

IMG_1668

Step 2: Measure in 4 1/2” in and cut. Repeat through the end of the yardage.

IMG_1669

For your border you will want to cut out 4 –4 1/2” strips of fabric.  Note: If you are only making one quilt then you only need 1/2 of a yard.  But, since I used a full Jelly Roll and am making two full quilts so I need to cut out 8 strips and used a full yard of fabric.  Make sure you square off your edges. Why didn’t I measure and cut the border pieces?  Simply my friends, this is stress free quilting.  We will be sewing and trimming after the fact.  The up sides to this are a) no math and b) you get an accurate cut every time which leads to an overall polished looking quilt.

They key is to start with a little excess on each side. Stitch your 1/4” seams and then trim so the border is inline with the blocks.  I started with the top and bottom and then worked my way to the sides. 

IMG_1686IMG_1689

Once you have the two tops done you can trim those and move on to the sides.

IMG_1694IMG_1700

Here is the finished front, time for quilting & binding!

IMG_1702

As with most of my quilts I decided to stitch in the ditch around the 4 patch blocks.  I wanted to set off the diamonds and give some focus to the quilt.  For quilting and binding please check out my previous posts for the Paradigm Shift.

I have mentioned in the past that Baxter loves being under quilts.  Here is a fun video of him “having” to be under the quilt after I pinned for quilting and then while I was doing the binding. Crazy little dude.

He must always be in a blanket!

  Baxter

Are you ready?

Without further ado…here is the final quilt! I hope Jenny likes it!

IMG_1720IMG_1722

3 thoughts on “The Sunset of My Sunshine! Front Assembly, Quilting, & Binding!

  1. Pingback: Disappearing 9-Patch – It’s a hoot! | Not my grandma's quilts

  2. Pingback: Stacker / Layer Cake Stripe Block Quilt | Not my grandma's quilts

  3. Pingback: Stacker / Layer Cake Stripe Block Quilt | The Clever Quilt Studio

Leave a Reply

