1 Million Pillowcase Challenge

My dear friend Roxy has caught the quilting bug and of course I am more than willing to help her get started.  While we were mulling over what her first project should be she mentioned that she wanted to make her boyfriend some new pillowcases.  I immediately had something in mind, but didn’t have an official pattern in my grasp.  So I searched my favorite tutorial channel on YouTube…yep you guessed it by Missouri Star Quilt Co. Did I find what I was looking for? Surprisingly yes and it was the exact pattern I had in mind.  Crazy how great minds think alike! Winking smile  [find the tutorial here]

Anyway, in the tutorial Jenny Doan mentioned the 1 Million Pillowcase Challenge being sponsored by American Patchwork & Quilting.  I thought to myself that this would be a great project to get involved in, then I looked at the date of the video…May 12, 2010.  What a bummer, I thought, that would have been a really great cause to participate in.  Then a few days later I searched for the ‘Million Pillowcase Challenge’ and to my surprise it  is still going on!

I thought that this would make a perfect Wednesday Writing and I implore you to get involved as well!  Currently (as of this post) there are 535,185 pillowcases reported.  Let’s see if between all of us we can add at least 100 to the bunch…what do you say! 

Here is my challenge to you, I will start by pledging 4 cases.  For every 10 cases pledged by my readers I will make one more case even if we go over our original goal! Just place a comment below of how many you pledge to donate and I will keep a tally. 

Each pillow case is really only 1 yard + 2” of fabric in total.  Time to gather any leftover jelly roll strips, backing, etc. 

I also recently priced out what 4…yes 4 pillow cases would be with the current JoAnn’s President’s Day sale going on. $11…for 4 pillow cases!  $11 to give 4 different people a little feeling of comfort and security.

To get involved just click on the banner below or the link above, pick or find a charity and update the counter. Simple as that.  The site also has patterns, quilt shops hosting events and much more!

American Patchwork & Quilting 1 Million Pillowcase Challenge - I made a difference YOU CAN TOO! Click here to learn more.

Feel free to post or send me photos of your pillowcases as you complete them at any or all of the following:

notmygrandmasquilts@gmail.com
@notmygmasquilts on Twitter
#notmygrandmasquilts on Instagram
Facebook.com/notmygrandmasquilts

I’m excited to make a difference. Let’s get started!

Quick Side Note: My Grandma (Gretta, the one that inspired this blog…yes her) made both my brother and I similar pillowcases while we were in college.  They were fantastic and I know she would approve 110% and she would definitely have made at least 10 herself.  She used to make baby quilts and give them to local charities all of the time.  One day I had to ask her if I could pick one out for my future children before she gave them all away. She told me to hurry because she might get a wild hare to take them that afternoon [sarcasm noted].  Man, I miss her.

I hope you choose to participate; I can’t wait to see all of the different cases!

Until Sunday (btw are you excited for our next project?! I know I am!)

p.s. more to come on Roxy’s quilting adventures, stay tuned!

p.p.s. Thanks Rox for making me look up a pillowcase tutorial…look what you’ve done!

2 thoughts on “1 Million Pillowcase Challenge

  1. My pillowcases are finished!!!!! I was amazed how quick and fun they were to make. I then had to share my experience with my co-workers. One who just happens to be a Girl Scout leader was very excited that this was a project her troop could tackle. She is thinking it would be a great community service project and a way for the girls to earn their sewing badge. Now she is completely on board. This will add another 10 or so pillowcases to the onward count to 1 million cases. Not to mention all those new young sewers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

