Front Layout and Final Assembly

Hey Everyone!

We have finally reached front assembly day! Now that all of the front blocks are done it is time to choose a layout.  The disappearing 4-patch gives us a lot of different options.  Here are my two finalists:

Option 1: Option 1

Option 2:Option 2

Can you see how just re-arranging the blocks can give the entire quilt?  I like both of them, but some of the fabric works better vertical rather than horizontal.  I have also been practicing my free-motion quilting and really want to try something small on this quilt.  I’m thinking I may place flowers in the white squares.  We’ll see I don’t know; so nervous to dive in to that new technique!  With that said, choosing the second option seemed like the better one to go with; there will be less white space to fill up throughout the quilt.

Okay, you know what’s next; work in rows and stitch all of the blocks together matching seams.  For this application I am definitely pinning. While I am waiting for the border, backing and binding fabric to be back in stock I thought that it would be best to move on to our next project. I mean the real fun is seeing how the fronts are put together anyway, right? Right!

If you have the front together and want to add borders I encourage you to check out my Jelly Roll Race Baby Quilt tutorial (Part 2).  If you are ready for batting, pinning, quilting and binding please check out my Paradigm Shift tutorials (steps 6, 7 & 8).  In fact, I may just copy them and move them to a special section on the basics.

Update 10/10/15 – Here’s the final quilt in all its glory!

Final Disappearing 4-Patch

Are you ready to see what is up next?

Here you go!

I’ve decided to switch the schedule up a bit.  If you have been following the tutorial schedule and were looking forward to the five and dime quilt next please let me know and I will see what I can do.  But when I looked at that pattern I realized that it will be similar to the disappearing 4-patch and wanted to work on something completely different. Can you guess which project is moving to the top?

Anyone up for a little Op Art Reflections? Yes! We are going to complete a falling charms quilt.  Here’s what you’ll need for next week!

  • What’s Needed?
    • 1 Black or Solid Roll Up (Jelly Roll)
      • 2 1/2″ wide strips
    • 4 Charm Packs
    • Border Fabric (optional)
    • Backing Fabric
    • Binding Fabric
    • Opart

I can’t wait to get started! Don’t worry, I will finish up the disappearing 4-patch soon enough.  I made a rule when starting this that each quilt needs to be finished before starting the next one. I’m bending the rules a bit, but Dori will be completed before Op Art….trust me! Winking smile

Until next week, go out and bask in the sunshine! (seriously, it’s gorgeous here in Denver…probably why my posts have been a bit scattered…please accept my apologies.)

Oh and shh, but I have a really fun ‘on the side’ tutorial coming up. Check back on Wednesday for that post! (Hint get 2 mini-charm packs and a fat quarter ready!)

Later!

Crystal

Leave a Reply

