Get ready to take a charming fall!

Are you all ready to start our next quilt? I know I am. It is snowing today in Denver; yes snowing on Mother’s day.  There is something inherently wrong with that.  I mean, shouldn’t Mother nature want it to be nice on a day that celebrates her name sake? Hmm, just doesn’t make sense.  Speaking of Mother’s day, I would be remiss if I didn’t give a little shout to my Mother and my late Grandmother!  Because let’s face it without the two of them I would not be here right now about ready to start our 6th quilt since August.   Man how time flies! Here’s to you mom and grandma!

 

Circa 2011imageCirca 2009

These photos were from a few years back, but they make me smile.  My mom and I ran a Halloween 5k (want to guess who what we were? lol) The next is with my grandma on a spring visit home from Colorado.


Ready, Set, Gather your materials and put on some music…It’s show time!

Here’s what you need for our ‘Op Art’ Falling Charms Quilt:

  • 4 Charm Packs
  • 1 Jelly Roll
    • We may need a little extra black, but I’m hoping it will just take one jelly
  • Batting
  • Binding
  • Backing
    • Also known from here in out as the three standard B’s…as in you can’t complete a quilt without them.
  • Thread
    • I’m using black on this quilt.

Falling Charms - Step 1


Step 1 – Attaching Charms to the Jelly Roll [Phase 1]

I am saying that there are two phases to attaching the charm pack to the jelly roll because, well, there are.  I want to show you both steps because they are slightly different.  We are all fans of chain stitching and I know I am a fan of the assembly line when it comes to quilting so here we go. 

Start by sewing all, yes ALL of your charms that’s 168 if anyone is counting to your jelly roll in a chain stitch.  Start by laying the right side up on your jelly then attaching the first charm to it (right sides together).  I am going to have the jelly roll on the bottom since it is the longer piece of fabric and you will want to add charms as you go.  Put on some good music or an hour long TV show (reality or baseball are my top two choices for quilting, because let’s face it…do I really care if I can’t hear every piece of dialog…nope.)

Let the chain stitch begin!

_

IMG_2219IMG_2220IMG_2221

Step 2 – Cutting apart your attached charms

The next step is to use your rotary cutter and cut apart your chain piecing. Be careful not to cut your charm, but line up the ruler with the edge of the charm and slice along your chain.  For non-ambidextrous people like me you may want to cut all of the right sides first and then go back and do the left sides by flipping them over.  

_

 

Snapshot 3 (5-11-2014 2-09 PM)
IMG_2223

IMG_2225IMG_2226

Step 3 – Setting & Pressing Seams.

Remember that you will want to set your seams by ironing on the stitching side first and then opening them up. If you leave the jelly roll side up you will press to the dark side each time.  Since this fabric is dark all around I’m not really worried about which side it goes to, but I am into being consistent so pressing towards the jelly rolls just feels right. (Man, I really need a different ironing board…okay I’m on it!)

IMG_2227IMG_2228

So far so good, right? I hope so! If not, leave me a comment below.  Next week we’ll add the second round of jelly roll strips and look at final layout. Yes, this one is going to be THAT quick!

Until next week, quilt away my friends, quilt away!

-Crystal

Leave a Reply

