Falling Charms–Step 2- Creating L’s & 7’s

Happy Memorial Day Everyone!

Today we remember those who have served, sacrificed and are still fighting for our freedoms! To my grandfather and father thank you for your service!


OH before I begin I have to tell you that you really only need 2 charm packs!!!! **ALERT** this quilt is going to be HUGE!  Seriously look at how many squares I made!

Step 1 Finished Falling Charms Blocks

With that said, I am going to split my blocks into two quilts for my Etsy shop.  I am also excited to tell you about my newest obsession, but that will have to come when we put these puppies together!

Back to business…Today’s post may be a little short because we are really just completing the block and starting the layout process.  Now that all of your blocks are cut and pressed we need to add them to the rest of your left over strips from the black jelly roll. Note if you want to use 4 charm packs you will need extra as my simple math skills pointed out. I had less than half of the strips left when I finished the first round AND we have to cover 2” more space…you get the idea.

Ready to repeat the verse same as the first only a little bit worse? (sorry, had to do it…do you guys remember ‘Wee Sing Silly Songs’? I’m sure my mom does…I was obsessed. We had the version WITH the cassette…yep I said it, cassette.)

1) Place your jelly roll right side up and attach your block with a 1/4” seam.  We want the short side of the jelly roll and the charm pack on the block under the presser foot.  I’ve arranged mine so my pressed seam will always be facing towards me so I don’t have to worry about that getting messed up.

Falling Charms Step 2 Chain Piecing

Chain piece everything until you are done with all of the blocks.  I found on average I ended up with 3-4 inches left over from each strip….save those!  I have so many I literally ran out of black thread (who doesn’t have extra black thread?!?!) and had to make a trip to JoAnn’s for more!

2) Cut the blocks apart just like we did in the first round; then set and press your seams open towards the dark side.

3) Layout time!!! You may have been wondering why I called today’s post ‘Creating L’s & 7’s’. Well that is the easiest way to remember the layout of this quilt.  Instead of the computer lingo of 0’s and 1’s we will be operating in a series of L’s and 7’s.

Here’s how it is going to go:

Falling Charms: L & 7 Layout Grid

Before your eyes go totally bonkers on you just remember to go one block at a time.  “Crystal, where are you getting L & 7 From???” Simple, look at the black in your squares. Depending on how you turn the block you either have an L or a 7.

Here is the L lay out:

Falling Charms: L Layout Example

Here is the 7 lay out:

Falling Charms: 7 Layout Example

It is really just a matter of rotating the squares.  Here is an example of a few of the squares.  Pretty neat, right?! No, my final layout isn’t complete; I really just wanted to see how it was going!

Falling Charms: L & 7 Quilt Layout Example

Alright, time to get a final layout and start sewing rows. Next up final assembly!!

Have a great holiday!

~Crystal

5 thoughts on “Falling Charms–Step 2- Creating L’s & 7’s

    • Hi Jennifer! Oh my gosh I’ve been trying, but I’ve had a couple orders come in so I had to put this on hold. It is my first priority once my last order is finished (hopefully this week!). The good news is that I will have two new tutorials to put up as well.

  1. I made all the squares for this quilt and had such a difficult time laying it out. Thank you soooo much for the diagram and the ease of remember L’s and 7’s.

Leave a Reply

